3.16 64bit install error on registering shell with Windows 11 Insider Preview (Dev Channel 25126, 25136, 25140, 25145, 25151, 25158, 25169)

Screenshot 2022-05-30 114955

Did you have a previous version in the program files (x86) folder?
Did you de-install that properly prior to installing as recommended in the notes?

I did have the previous 32bit version installed and uninstalled it before installing the 3.15 64bit and then 3.16 64bit versions. Both installs generated the error on integrating the shell integration. I am using Windows 11 Dev version 25126.

I have just uninstalled mp3tag and manually cleaned folders (including hidden) and registry of any mp3tag reference, rebooted and ccleaned. (I am a retired software support tech for a POS software and familiar with doing beta testing) Fresh admin install of 3.16 64bit and same issue ... program works fine but no integration with right click menus.

Installed on another PC running Win 11 build 22000 and 3.16 64bit installed with no issues (no previous version of mp3tag had been installed).

Hope this helps ... thanks!.

Does this help:

Maybe related to that but I haven't tried it yet. I've noticed that the UAC shield is still visible on the "Next" button in your screenshot. Can you re-try with allowing UAC access for Mp3tag?

I run with UAC on "Never Notify" and that was set while installing 3.16 x64. I disabled UAC via the Registry (EnableLUA set to 0) and rebooted. Tried a reinstall of 3.16 x64:

It's related to the Dev channel of the Windows Insider Preview. I've now finally managed to install this via Hyper V and can reproduce the issue.

I'm not sure where the bug is. However, given that it's working with the official version I'm tending to assume an issue with the preview version.

Thank you!
Should be a new dev version of Win 11 this week and I will test with that also.