# Comments on new option to disable auto-filtering

**URL:** https://community.mp3tag.de/t/comments-on-new-option-to-disable-auto-filtering/41262
**Category:** General Discussion
**Created:** [March 30, 2018, 8:58am UTC](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/comments-on-new-option-to-disable-auto-filtering/41262 "2018-03-30T08:58:28Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Zerow](https://community.mp3tag.de/user_avatar/community.mp3tag.de/zerow/32/11379_2.png) [@Zerow](https://community.mp3tag.de/u/Zerow)
#### Post date: [March 30, 2018, 8:58am UTC](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/comments-on-new-option-to-disable-auto-filtering/41262/1 "2018-03-30T08:58:28Z")

</div>

> [@Mp3tag v2.87 released](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/mp3tag-v2-87-released/41236/1):
>
> **Option to disable auto-filtering**  
> The filter helper menu now has an option to enable/disable auto-applying the filter. This can be helpful if you're working with large libraries and find the auto-filtering to disturb your workflow.

Great!

But this would be even greater: If that big grey area that has the word "Filter" in it, could be clicked- to turn on and off that auto mode. Being somehow visibly pushed in could mean, that the auto mode [the old way of working] is applied; while when looking how it looks currently would mean then that we have to push Enter to apply the filtering expression. Or the other way around- to not confuse people updating from older versions  
  
  
But what might be a little confusing right now is unfortunately this: If the user have the auto mode turned on and some filtering expression, then the list of files is somehow shortened, right? But what happens when the user unclicks the "Auto-apply filter"? The filtering expressions stays in the Filter box, right? But that expression is no longer being applied- I mean [and now I will fail at my English grammar]: it is because it had been applied; but it is not because the user did not press Enter. And when the user removes it by clearing the Filter box, the list of files stays shortened- as if the filtering expression was still working [but it is not]. So what I am pointing out is this: the user has an empty Fitler box- and yet that user does not see all of the files. And so I think that un-clicking the "Auto-apply filter" should also automatically clear the Filter box of any data and present all of the files that are currently loaded to Mp3tag- just as a remainder
