# Have to "allow" when I try to rename files

**URL:** https://community.mp3tag.de/t/have-to-allow-when-i-try-to-rename-files/57875
**Category:** Mac
**Created:** [July 11, 2022, 5:35pm UTC](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/have-to-allow-when-i-try-to-rename-files/57875 "2022-07-11T17:35:39Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Showing post:** 2

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Florian](https://community.mp3tag.de/user_avatar/community.mp3tag.de/florian/32/5759_2.png) [@Florian](https://community.mp3tag.de/u/Florian)
#### Post date: [July 11, 2022, 5:49pm UTC](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/have-to-allow-when-i-try-to-rename-files/57875/2 "2022-07-11T17:49:39Z")

</div>

Hi Jon and welcome!

The issue you're experiencing is due to Mp3tag being a sandboxed application. Sandboxed applications require explicit access to files and folders provided by the user via

- an open panel, e.g., with ⌘O
- Drag & Drop
- Services

Mp3tag tries to remember once the permission is given via a "secure bookmark" (the list of them stored at `SecurityScopedBookmarks` as you already found out). This allows for editing the same files without subsequent requests for permission.

If you drag&drop or open _individual_ files, Mp3tag only gets permission to edit those files. Renaming also requires permission to the enclosing folder. I believe this is what you're observing.

The good thing is, that those secure bookmarks apply to all included files and folders or a folder for which the permission is given. So if you choose a more general folder (e.g., your home directory at ⇧⌘H in the open panel), you can prevent future prompts for any of the containing files and folders. You can also cancel the reading process if it takes longer than acceptable — Mp3tag will store the bookmark no matter what.

---

_[View the full topic](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/have-to-allow-when-i-try-to-rename-files/57875)._
