Love Product......

:rolleyes: This is great software. I'm new to all this, but with a few thousand songs I was looking for something to help me manage my libraries and bring some order to chaos. I do have a question, hope its not silly......

I’ll try to make it as clear as possible. I would like to be able to rearrange the order of the retagging. I’ll explain:

When selecting the "Convert" option and then selecting "Filename Tag" the default set up is as follows:

(%i - %a %n) - %t

So that Title, Artist, Album, and Track fields are retagged.
Using the following: The filename is

Grand Funk Railroad - Foot Stompin' Music.mp3

With the current defaut MP3Tag setup the file is converted as follows:

“Footstompin Music” becomes the Title.
“Grand Funk RailRoad” becomes the Artist.
“Footstompin Music” will become the Album.

And as it stands it works great, however I would like to make the artist name and the album name the same. So that

Footstompin Music becomes the Title.
Grand Funk Railroad becomes the Artist
Grand Funk Railroad becomes the Album.

Hope this makes sense…..Anyone have a clue how I can change the Format String to acommodate my wishes.

Thanks......... :flushed:

I'm glad you like Mp3tag - thank's for the nice feedback!

To copy Grand Funk Railroad both to Album and Artist you have to run the Converter Filename - Tag two times.

The first time you use the formatstring
%a - %t
the second time you can use the formatstring
%i - %t

Hope that helps!

Regards,
~ Florian

WOW! And thats on two accounts....First on the quick response and second on your suggestion. I test tried it on approx. 100 songs...and it worked like a charm. Thanks again.

Now....I have another question. Can you help me to help myself. By this I mean how would I have known....that the two format strings you suggested would have worked for me. Does this come with expirence or trail and error, or is there some place I can go to learn more about the formatting of strings.