# Remove / Delete need space between them

**URL:** https://community.mp3tag.de/t/remove-delete-need-space-between-them/16741
**Category:** General Discussion
**Created:** [March 25, 2015, 11:06am UTC](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/remove-delete-need-space-between-them/16741 "2015-03-25T11:06:01Z")
**Posts on this page:** 1
**Showing post:** 5

<div class="post-metadata">

### Author: ![Zerow](https://community.mp3tag.de/user_avatar/community.mp3tag.de/zerow/32/11379_2.png) [@Zerow](https://community.mp3tag.de/u/Zerow)
#### Post date: [July 18, 2017, 3:55pm UTC](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/remove-delete-need-space-between-them/16741/5 "2017-07-18T15:55:58Z")

</div>

> [@ohrenkino](#):
>
> Probably the function keeps its dangerousness whereever you put it in the menu.

I beg to differ. There is a reason why people do not keep body aerosol antiperspirant right next to a bug spray

> [@ohrenkino](#):
>
> There are some safeguards:  
> you get an error message (unless you have not switched it off),

It seems that they do not work for me!

I already have had selected "at deleting" and yet I never got any such message. And that is why I have made that post over two years ago [because I was unaware of such settings, as I simply forgot about them once I set them]

Now I have tried with or without "at deleting" and "after delete" and still nothing. While at the same time I get warning for pasting tags and removing them [which I also set some long time ago as, as you called them, safeguards]

> [@ohrenkino](#):
>
> there is an undo function  
> there is still the waste bin that lets you restore the deleted file...
> 
> And you can keep backups, backups, backups ...  
> [...]

All of these are not safeguards for accidental deletion. Those are data retrieval processes

Undo? If I know I have made a mistake I can use it. But how do you differentiate between removing and deletion, if the result in Mp3tag is the same- the are removed from the list? Without reloading of files I will not spot the difference

Rycycle bin? Who checks the recycle bin before emptying it? After a lot of workload it could tens of minutes of additional work, also susceptible to mistakes. I only go to recycle bin if I know I deleted the wrong files

Backups? If I knew what I have accidentally deleted something I would be a machine with a perfectly working scripts for checking data

> [@Doug Mackie](#):
>
> My solution was a simple one: instead of using the context menu to delete files, I use the keyboard shortcut **Ctrl+Del**. It did not take long for me to train myself not to use the context menu for deletions and I find that the shortcut is faster.

There is always a possibility of not pushing the CTRL hard enough [and thus only removing with DEL instead of deleting with CTRL + DEL]. Or making an extremely rare stupid mistake [kind like not closing a door to home with a key after leaving it, which happens to me once a decade]

> [@Doug Mackie](#):
>
> The problem with editing the context menu at this point is that veteran users are accustomed to the current arrangement and some would be annoyed if it was changed.

Well yes, a change would affect everyone, so I can see why there would be no change implemented

But a customizable menu would make such and any changes optional

---

_[View the full topic](https://community.mp3tag.de/t/remove-delete-need-space-between-them/16741)._
