App reopens last directory/files despite removing them before closing

Once done with retagging a particular folder/set of files, even if you select them all and then "Remove" them (from Edit menu of context menu) before closing the app, next time MP3Tag starts again, all those files/directory are reloaded.

I understand that it's nice to keep state/a reference to files that you had open last time when you closed the app, but if I explicitly removed them, they shouldn't show up again.

1 remove all files

2 exit

3 reopen ... all the files are there again

No bug but a feature.
See Tools>Options>Directory
Tick the option to open a favourite folder but leave the path definition empty.