Audio track sequence

I have transfered some multiple disc ebooks to my San Disk Sansa player but the tracks do not sequence properly. It was suggested that I try MP3tag, which I have downloaded (v 2.51). I have searched through the FAQ's but cannot find directions for fixing my problem. I am new to this tagging process and would appreciate your help. I am using a PC with Windows XP Home and Media Player.

Load all the files into MP3tag.
Make sure that they are in the correct order (e.g. show a column with the path and filename in the files list and sort by that column)

Select all the files, once they are in the right order.
Use the "track number assistant" to create new track numbers, number all tracks seqentially even if they have been on different discs.
Go to the tag panel.
There enter a name for the artist, the album, albumartist.
Press save.
User the converter tag - filename with the mask
%album% - $num(%track%,3) - %title%
to create new filenames.

You probably need to add TRACK number fields to the files: 1, 2, 3, etc. Mp3tag has an auto-numbering wizard (under Tools, or Ctrl-K) that may help if the tracks are in the correct order within the file view.

How are the files named? If they have the track number in the file name, then it's easy to transfer it to the TRACK field. If they sort correctly in Windows Explorer or can be sorted within Mp3tag (for instance, by having episode numbers in the TITLE), then you can use the auto-numbering wizard. If neither, then you may have to number them all by hand.

I have the same issue with my MP3 player (Philips SoundDot) playing files in totally illogical order. I read that rewriting the mp3 tags ID3 v2.4 to ID3 v2.3 might resolve the problem, so, I downloaded MP3tag, loaded my files in it, hit Autonumbering Wizard, ticked Mpeg tags to read ID3v2.3 ISO 8859-1 and to remove APE. Finally, I saved it. It didn't help.

:slight_smile:

Or maybe rewriting tags doesn't help in this case?