Automatically / batch a mp3 title from the file name?

Hi, sorry for my stupid question...but i a total newb to tags...

I never needed to edit them until i got this stupid ipod for christmas.

Anyways, im looking for a easy way to make the " tag title" of all my mp3's, match the file names.
All my mp3's filenames are as follows. (as seen in windows explorer.)

Aerosmith - Angel.mp3
America - Sandman.mp3
Beatles - Hey Jude.mp3
etc
etc
etc....4000 songs later...

Im looking for a easy way to make the tag "title" of each mp3 reflect the exact "filename" of each mp3 (minus the mp3 extension ofcourse :slight_smile:

Ive been looking and i cant seem to figure it out in the mp3tag software...but im sure theres a way.

Anyways, any and all help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks for reading.

Load all your mp3 files into Mp3tag.
Select all loaded files (ctrl-A).
Go to the menu "convert" and choose "Filename - Tag" option.
Enter the parsing format e.g. %artist% - %title% in the prompt window.
Click OK.
The "title" part of the filenames will be copied into the mp3 files, in the title tag.

I wish you were here, so i could offer you a beer !!!!

Thank you Thank you Thank you!!!

I need to copy the Filename from the 1st column to the Title in the 4th column. The OK bottom was dimmed after I entered the parsing format. What did I do wrong?

Do understand what you want to do and how you can accomplish this the Mp3tag way.
The OK button is not active because your input is not correct.
The formatstring does not match with the parts from the underlying filename.
In the filenames there are four parts delimited by a space character.
Try formatstring %part1% %part2% %part3% %part4% and see what is going on ...

Use action "Tag format"
Field: TITLE
Formatstring: %_filename%

DD.20090321.1740.CET

Figured id just throw this out there as well since it saved me hours and hours and hours of time throughout the years.

Bulk Rename Utility