Batch Add Tags to Specific Tracks

I have a large database of music of which I want to add specific data to, to the Comment Field. In an excel sheet, I have the exported playlist from iTunes for which I have matched up historical Chart data. I would like to figure out a workflow to match the text string up to the correct song and then add it to the correct comment tag.

I am just getting started with MP3Tag and am not sure all the features it has. Would this solution work...Copy each text string to a text file and give it the matching name fo the corresponding song. This would then be followed by a batch append command.

If this workflow could work, how would I specifically execute it? Is there an easier solution? Thanks in advance for your help!!!!!

The best match would be found if you had already an alignment via the filename.

in general: you can import data from a textfile into tags with the function
Convert>Textfile-Tag
To import the data, you have to tell mp3tag the sequence of fieldnames and the separator in EXACTLY the format in which the records in the text file are arranged. E.g. every comma and blank counts.

MP3tag does not search for particular strings while importing.
You either have to take care that the filename can be taken as key or you have to match sequence and number of files with that of the records in the text file.

Thank You! Do you have an example from which I could work from by chance or even a step by step workflow? Thanks!

There are different ways to transport textual data from outside of Mp3tag into the tag-fields within a media file under control of Mp3tag.

1. Use the Keyboard and type in what you want.

2. Use the Clipboard 'Copy and Paste' feature.

3. Import the entire content from a text file, having one ore more lines, into one tag-field.
    Use the action "Import text file".
    See also ...
    https://www.google.de/search?q=site%3Aforum...mport+text+file

4. Read a text file with one or more lines of text data, ...