Can still see comments in Windows Explorer after deleting them in MP3Tag

Newbie question, and I did search Forum and FAQ, so sorry if this has been answered already...

I batch deleted all comments using MP3Tag, but some comments still show up in Windows Explorer. I am new to this, but I am guessing that I have deleted one version of tag, but not all. How do I ensure that I can delete all versions of tags?

Second question - does it make sense to delete all ID3V1 tags for example, and only use ID3V2 tags, and if so, how do I do that?

Thanks for the help and the patience.

See Tools>Options>Tags>Mpeg
to set which tag(version)s you want to treat in which way.

The preferred settings would be that you read and delete all tags but write only ID3 tags (no APE).

If you get strange results like programs show data that MP3tag does not, play around with the settings for reading APE to see, if the APE tags are out of sync with the ID3 tags. APE is superior to ID3 in MP3tag.

To clear up tags, cut and delete the tags with the functions from the files list context menu.
Or sometimes it is enough to save them again...

On the topic of deleting V1 tags: Any kind of tagging aims at a certain set of players. You have to tag in such a way that your players can deal with it.
So, if you players can cope with V2.3 tags - fine, leave out everything else.
Still, for some players, the V1 tags are necessary as they treat the V2 tags as audio data and you would loose the basic tag information.
So: I would leave them.

Thanks for the reply. Turns out that the comments I could still see in Explorer were hidden in Extended Tags such as ID3V1 Comments, Year, Comments_Itunes_xxx, etc.. I batch edited them to < blank > and it seems to have solved the problem.

Once again thanks for your help

This still does not make sense in all respects: