Changing Directory Name

Could somebody please tell me how to edit and change the name of a directory? I have tried and can not figure out how to do this. Thanks for the help in advance and I will be waiting for a reply. :music:

You should give an example how your directory-structure is now and to what you want to change it.

You would have to use an action of the type "Format value" for _DIRECTORY.
Field variables are allowed, naming rules for the underlying filesystem apply and have to be safeguarded by you.

Here is an example of how the directory looks: C:\Users\wayne-diane\Music\Steely_Dan-The_Very_Best_of-2CD-2009-ONe I would like to change the name to Very Best Of Steely Dan (Import) Please be precise and clear with your response as I am a relative newbie at this and I am learning as I go along. Thanks :music:

ohrenkino,

My apologies to you but you have gone way over my head as I am a relative newbie at this. I don't have any idea what you are speaking of. You will need to slow down and explain a little more thoroughly for me to understand. Here is what my directory looks like. C:\Users\wayne-diane\Music\Steely_Dan-The_Very_Best_of-2CD-2009-ONe I would like to change the name in it to Very Best Of Steely Dan (Import) If you would like to try again that would be great but if you don't want to I will understand that too.

Thanks,

battway :music:

I hope that you have the album field already filled with "Very Best Of Steely Dan (Import)".
Select a file from the directory "C:\Users\wayne-diane\Music\Steely_Dan-The_Very_Best_of-2CD-2009-ONe"

Now follow the instructions to create a new action as shown in the FAQs: /t/967/1.
As action type select "Format value".
As field select: _DIRECTORY
As format string enter: %album%

This will now name the current directory just as the data in the field ALBUM suggests.
As the directory is renamed, all files in the directory will also be moved to the new location.

ohrenkino,