Computer freezing after amending tags on WAV files

Hi All,

Hoping someone can help here,

I have 10x WAV files legitimately downloaded from the artist's Soundcloud page which work and play fine until I try to amend the tags, once I do this and then try to access the file within the folder my computer freezes and sends the CPU into overdrive, I have successfully used MP3TAG previously on over 4000 files of varying types with no issues, appreciate any suggestions as I can not see anything unusual in the files themselves so I assume it is something I have done wrong.

Many thanks

I would still load them into a common audio editor that is able to read and write wav files and save them again and then see if the behaviour is still there.
Anything can go wrong on the way through the internet.

thanks for the reply, I was considering running them through audacity to test this very thing, anything I should be looking for as I am very new to this kind file manipulation.

cheers

Hard to say - you will see if the editor shows more or less an empty file of one with gaps in it or whatever. The basic idea of rewriting the file is to get the header right again so that any pointers do not point to neverland.

Can you maybe also point me to the file in question?

If this is really due to the structure of this particular file, it’s something I want to fix in Mp3tag.

I can send you the files or try and find the links on soundcloud, it may not be all 10x of the files causing the issue but I have struggled to narrow it down any further as any time I make a change to one or all of them it causes the PC freezing issue and I have to force shut down and delete the entire file.

thank you again, I will experiment and report back, hopefully if I can resolve it might help someone in the future.

Yes. Please send the one which is causing the freeze, either via Dropbox direct link or send me the link from Soundcloud. As long as I can reproduce it somehow, I'm confident to fix the freeze.