Convert Title field to filename

Hi...NooB here,

I have over 1 thousand files recovered from Hard drive and the filenames are generic and in sequence (file0001.mp3, file0002.mp3....etc). The Title on the tag have the name and the location on the drive where the file used to be (/var/spool/monitor/2015/07/17/q-22222-6023487271-20150717-151335-1437160414.109626.wav). Is there a way that I can rename the file AND recreate the original directory structure?

Thanks in advance!

Convert "Tag - Filename" Formatstring: 'T:\TEST\Haustin01'$replace(%TITLE%,'/','\','.wav',)

DD.20150806.0645.CEST

You are running Windows, right? Path-filename is UNIX-type. We'll fix this.

Quick and dirty:
0. Make copy of original files just in case....

1. Start Mp3Tag, load files. Make sure ALL title-tags start with /var/spool/.... or else you'll end up with a complete mess in C:. Easy test: click on title-column-header to sort on title. Now scroll and check.
  2. Select all files: Ctrl-A
  3. Convert Tag-Filename -- format string: $replace(%title%,/,)
    New path-filename of first file is displayed in window, without prefix "C:" ! Press OK when correct.
  4. Close Mp3Tag.

Structure is created from root, so files will be placed in folder "C:\var\spool\monitor\2015\07\17" etc. All folders and subfolders will be created!
Filename will be "q-2222-6023487271-20150717-151335-1437160414.109626.wav" etc.

Files are removed from original location. There is no easy way back!
Perhaps you test on a few files first. (You made a copy, didn't you?)

I doubt that WAV files really contain tags that can be dealt with by MP3tag...

I wonder which program displays a title as I think that this program only shows the filename as it has nothing else to show about the file.

Must be mp3-files, else Mp3Tag would not have read them. Perhaps converted from wav's ? Many conversion programs append .mp3 to original filename.