Cover Art and multi platform iTunes

I could really use some advice on how to best load and store Cover/Album Art for our Music. Please help and comment on any of the following conclusions. Thx.

Really new at this and jumping in the deep end. Family just got iPhones and Samsung Eternities.
iPhone of course is iTunes, and Samsung uses Microsoft to develop all its software.

We have XP, Vista and Mac.

I have discovered "iTunes Sync" and "iTunes Agent" which appear to take Windows Media Player out of the picture (thank god).

I've read alot of the topics here and other places and have come up with the following:

• mp3tag, best tag editor.
  • winamp, best mass tag update from Graceland for newly imported files.
  • iTunes (necessary for the iPhones...and share libraries across several computers
  • "iTunes Sync" or "iTunes Agent" to update the Samsungs and other assorted media players laying around.
  • no need to use WMP.
Now, as a newb, I spent a lot of time updating the Art in iTunes, and after a few days got really tired of it and started this quest for a more rational system. I discovered this program (and the forum) and was very impressed, but as a newb I'm going to screw up. So the first thing I did was to update all the tags in the iTunes library to v2.3. That was fine but I lost a lot of Cover Art.

I then discovered that iTunes doesn't necessarily store the art in the file. Nor does Winamp. But mp3edit can. Now since this music needs to have multiplatform support, I would think it best to use mp3edit to store all the art in the mp3 files. I tested a few and both Winamp and iTunes see embedded art just fine. You just have to make sure to use jpg or png.