DragAndDrop - **Wine** on MXLinux v23, KDE

Yes, I KNOW this is not supported, Florian :slight_smile: But figured I'd ask my question.

Q: I assume that mp3tag is using different OS mechanisms (libraries?) for its File > Add Directory and drag-and-drop file open methods; what are they?

Long Story

I have MXLinux v23, KDE Plasma 5.27. mp3tag versions 3.22b (64-bit) and 3.20 (32-bit), both mp3tag versions are the portable installs self-contained in their folders (as the current installer no longer successfully completes under wine).

This combination works nearly flawlessly! I've been using it for several years through changes from Kubuntu to MXLinux KDE and mp3tag v2.x to the current versions. It really is remarkable just how well it works.

I think the basic issue is the difference between Windows and Unix file naming conventions. mp3tag is a Windows application so expects that files conform to Windows naming conventions and that they do not use Windows prohibited characters. Understood and accommodated.

I've discovered that UTF16 characters work for both filename and tags. I've been using them to substitute apostrophes, double-quotes, etc. which mp3tag successfully writes to filenames (I use mp3tag extensively to rename files so they align with tags). For example, Charles-Marie Widor's 10th Organ Symphony is titled "Romane." So, the filenames include "Romane" in them. mp3tag will not open them via drag-and-drop. If I modify those double-quotes to “ and ”, mp3tag will open them. But only in one way, thus this post.

If I File > Add Directory, mp3tag will open these files without issue, and it displays both filename and tags that use them. I can add them, remove them, use Tag->Filename with them, and mp3tag works without complaint.