Empty Tag Panel

Hi. I'm completely new to MP3Tag so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.
I am familiar with Excel and some SQL, so indexing and formatting is not new to me.
Whenever I open MP3Tag and select a directory, I see the details of an album in the main window, ie Track, Artist, Album etc. However, the Tag Panel is blank for every album. I don't see artwork or any album details at all. Sometimes I want to batch edit the Album artist column, or Composer column, but without the panel it means I have to edit each row individually via Copy & Paste.

Am I missing something? I've gone through FAQs, searched on Google, played around with creating fields in the panel but nothing works. Perhaps a reinstall would repair it?

Using a Windows 10 PC with MP3 and FLAC files.

I'd appreciate any pointers.

Thanks,

Tom

You have to select at least 1 file in the file list to see data in the tag panel.

1 Like

Hi ohrenkino. Thanks for that.
What I've done so far is this. I created an Album field in the blank Tag Panel. I called it Album. I selected All files in the main window and was able to batch rename them all. This is exactly what I was looking for.

However, does this mean that I need to create a new field in the Tag panel for each one I want to batch edit, eg, Album Artist etc? Nothing appears in the panel when I select a file, unless I have already created the field. Is that what is meant to happen? I presumed all of the fields of an album would appear in the panel and I then edit whichever I selected.

Thanks, Tom

I am a little astonished that you had to create a field for ALBUM - after the initial installation the tag panel shows the fields that mainly comply with the ID3V1 standard. ALBUMARTIST (the name of the field is ALBUMARTIST and not ALBUM ARTIST) is a field for ID3V2 ff and other tag formats. So yes, you would have to add that one.
And this could be necessary also for further fields, go ahead, customize MP3tag to meet your needs.