Export tags

Hi,

I am new to MP3TAG and firstly let me congratulate Florian on a wonderful program!

I have been playing with exporting the tag data so that I can print reports using MS Access. I have it doing basically what I want, but I would like to include the 'Album Artist' field and I can't see that on the list in the help file. %Composer% is also missing.

Also I am not clear on what the %fieldname% tag means or how to use it, but I suspect it solves my problem above. Examples please.

[As a side issue, I am still wrestling with how best to categorise my music collection. If I have an album of Bach music played by an obscure artist, I would rather it appear under 'Bach' in the Sort by Artist option of my player. Most players don't seem to offer a Sort by Composer, or Sort by Album Artist option :frowning: Is there a thread somewhere on this topic?]

As part of getting the data ready to use in a CSV file, I needed to remove all " double quote marks. I realise (now) that I could do that using a RegEx but it would have been simpler if there was a conventional Search & Replace command. (I need to brush up on RegEx!!)

TIA

%albumartist% and %composer%

Google 'tagging classical music' for discussions. If you're stuck with a player or software that can only sort by artist, then you may have to put the composer in the artist field. Or possible construct your album titles to include it first. One suggestion:

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.php/Begi...de_To_Classical

You don't have to use a regex for something that simple. Mp3tag does such things using 'actions' and 'action groups'. The type of action you want to use is a Replace. You can either create and save an action group consisting of a single Replace action, or else use a 'quick action', which is a single action executed one time.

Thanks for the pointers.