Extract and Reformat/Re-place Date

I am brand new to this world of MP3 tagging, so I'm not very familiar with the language. For several days I was renaming every single field by hand, which obviously was not necessary. But now I've figured out how to do several things, like renaming the columns/fields appropriately "automatically" and deleting extraneous stuff in brackets/parentheses, moving strings around, etc.

The main issue I haven't been able to figure out is reformatting the date in the filename. The dates on the MP3's I'm dealing with are like this 390226, which means 2-26-1939 (Feb. 26, 1939).

I want the date to look like: 2-26-1939

In kind of dummed-down MP3 language, could someone tell me if that's possible, and if so, how to do it? I would really appreciate it.

Unfortunately, you do not give an actual filename, so I can supply ony the transformation for the date - but as you probably want to keep the rest of the filename you would have to fit in some wildcards for that also.
And another thing: it would be much easier if you could start from a structured piece of data which means that the date resides in field of its own.

To split up a 6-digit number and rearrange it, use an action of the type "Replace with regular expression" for the field, here probably _FILENAME
Enter as search string
(\d\d)(\d\d)(\d\d)
Enter as replace string:
$2-$3-19$1

as you add the "19" manually it will only work for dates from the last century.

I'm sorry I didn't include the full filename. I've made them look like: Title - 000000 (the date)
(I rearranged and deleted everything I could, so at least the strings are in the order I want them to be.)

And I want to keep the full date in the title/filename on purpose. These are old radio broadcasts, so the date to me is as important/interesting as the title, so want that up front and center.