Figuring out what belongs in an album

Hello,

I'm new to MP3Tag and so far I'm finding it frustrating to use. Perhaps I'm expecting it to do things that it isn't designed for.

Right now I have about 50 songs from the same artist. The 'Album' field in all the tags are empty. I have no way of knowing just by looking at the list what belongs in which album. I was hoping MP3Tag could scan all the songs and present to me which ones belong in what albums. Is MP3Tag not this automated? What can I do in this situation?

Why are you complaining? You are lucky that you have found an absolutely outstanding program for tagging completely free of charge.

Research.

And use a little common sense: how should a program find information that you are not able to find? A track does not reveal anything about its album whereabouts: It could have been released on a single, an album, downloaded as single track from an internet site, be part of a greatest hits album or incorporated in a sampler or recorded in a live concert. It could be the radio edit, a maxi version, a dubbed track (and so on).

What you could do: have a look at a site like www.discogs.com and look for a track - perhaps you find it on an album that also shows some of your other tracks.
MP3tag then supports you to enter the album for all the selected tracks at once.
You may even add album art.
In the end you will find that MP3tag is not frustrating but absolutely worthwhile.

I've found that many times when trying to get songs properly tagged you have to look up the information manually, there's no way around it. As ohrenkino said there are just too many combinations.

Try going to this site: http://www.allmusic.com/

Do a search on Artist, then go to the Songs tab and it will give you an alpha list of all of their songs. Click on a song and it will give a list of all the albums that song appeared on sorted by release date. Then use Mp3tag to manually enter the album name.