FLAC files

I was recommended this program for the purpose of converting all my tags. Having read up a bit on tag conversion, I understand that you just need to load up your files and select what tag type you want in the save section and then save and they will all be converted. This works fine but although I read that this program supports FLAC files, it seems that when I do what I've described above and save, nothing changes and they still remain FLAC in the tag section.

Should I be doing something different?

Mp3tag will only write Flac tags to Flac files.
What tags do you want?

ID3v2

Thank you for the quick reply

Why would you want ID3v2 tags in FLAC files? Do you have a particular application that requires it? That would be highly unusual.

It was the format suggested to me, that best works with XBMC which I have on my HTPC

I'd say that's almost certainly mistaken or a misunderstanding. Try FLAC files with their normal FLAC tags (Vorbis Comments).

I'm no expert but what you said seems to be fine. I transfered all the flac files over and they worked fine.

The guy that suggested the tag I mentioned said the following and I think their advice was based on the best tag for XBMC to grab al the metadata and cover art when scanning.

"If you use mp3tag and add all your mp3s into it you will likely notice there is a variety of tag versions being used, ID3v1, ID3v2 (both 2.3 and 2.4) and APE, first thing I recommend using mp3tag to save them all into the same tag format of which I recommend ID3v2.3 UTF-16 which is what I use, and then remove all other types, so the files just contain the ID3v2.3 tag (ID3v2.3 is the best to use as it has support for fields greater than ~60 characters but a warning some very old car stereos may not be able to read anything other than a ID3v1 tag)"

So I don't know really, but my main concern is making sure all the albums display properly. Lastly I notice that a lot of my music shows the ID3v2.3 tag, but some show the following