Format _DIRECTORY question

Hi,

I am new to MP3Tag, and have been experimenting with it today as I am re-organising my music collection :music: . I want to rename every album folder to "(year) album name"

Assuming tags are OK, I've found you can do this via the format action value:

field: _DIRECTORY
string (%year%) %_directory%

This works great, but I would like to be able to preserve the original folder's creation/modification timestamps. I assume the above command creates a new folder and does away with the old, can I modify it so it simply renames the original folder (thus preserving the stamps)?

Thanks a lot, your program is really impressive!

Dawson

I don't know exactly, but I don't think so.

If this information is important for you, maybe you can use one of the following placeholders for the directory name. Unfortunatelly these placeholders exist only for file creaction/modificaton time, but in most cases this will corespond to the direcorty creaction/modificaton time.
%_file_create_date%
%_file_create_datetime%
%_file_create_datetime_raw%
%_file_mod_date%
%_file_mod_datetime%
%_file_mod_datetime_raw%

Thanks for the advice pone, much appreciated.

To be honest it's not that big an issue, I have found some alternative solutions using reNamer and a pascal script, but it's not as tidy and flexible as MP3Tag.

I've been using MP3 Tag Tools for years, this is so much more involved - source tagging is very impressive :slight_smile: Is there any way you can batch queue folders for source tagging (say, from freecddb.org) or does it have to be manual/hand picked?

Thanks again,

Dawson

Web source requests have to be done separately and can't be queued.
This request feature turns up here more and more. I think it could be possible to do something which always gets the first web source match and selects this for tagging. Would be not very precise,though. A more advanced approach would be to check for some matching before tagging, at least number of tracks.