general directions

I am totally new to this whole subject, but only need to know how to use the editor for tagging cd's that I burn to my computer in order to transfer them to my mp3 player. I've been told that this is what I need to do so that my player recognizes what each cd is and what it belongs to. I read the directions, but they don't mean much to me - the terms are unfamiliar and I don't have any context for them. I've played around with the editor a bit, with a book I had already burned, that had 9 discs. I'm just not sure what I should put in what field, etc? I need a VERY basic 1-2-3, if that's possible.

Thanks!

Please see the First Steps, the Help files, and the Frequently Asked Questions.

Kind regards,
Florian

Florian - I have done all of those things, but as I said, the terminology is unfamiliar to me and the directions don't help at all. I don't know what they mean. That's why I'm asking for just very basic, step by step directions. I had a box come up to edit the tags, with headings like title, artist, and album. When I copy the discs from a book, all the track ones, twos, threes, etc. group together so I, and I guess my mp3 player, can't tell which track one goes to which disc etc. So do I put the book name in the title block or the album block, and which block do I put the disc #, and is that even the way for me to do it? I just don't have a clue, and am not just being "helpless" by not reading for myself!

I really would appreciate the help. Thanks.

Carol

So you have mainly audiobooks? Which mp3 player do you have?
This is what I would put in the tag panel on the left:

Title: Chapter names
Artist: Reader or writer of the book
Album: Name of the book (maybe + Disc Number, depends on your player)
Track: Track numbers starting new for each cd

If your player understands it, you can edit the Discnumber tag with Menu View > Extended Tags