Help needed with "Export cover to file" action

I'm new to the mp3tag software, only started with it yesterday. I've got all my mp3's (2000+) with embedded album art, but I need to have album art in the album folder as a folder.jpg. Looking around the forums, I found the "Export cover to file" action which should do what I want.

The following thread gave instructions;

is it possible to extract multiple cover art ?

I've followed the instructions as shown, adding a new action, Export cover to file, then adding the format string. With the string, I copy/pasted the string from the forum thread into the relevant box. I ran that action on all tracks, then saved. At this point I was expecting the album folders to have artwork in the folder as a jpeg. Nothing, just the album tracks.

Now, am I doing something wrong, or have I missed a step somewhere along the line? If there's any advice you guys can give, I'd really appreciate it.

So what formatstring did you use?

Hmm, I am not quite sure, but I think that copy/pasting into Mp3tag action dialog fields may not work in all cases. The dialog field shows the pasted content, but Mp3tag do not use it and runs the action with an empty field content. Workaround: Enter the value manually.

Are you sure that the Mp3tag tagfields, which you use in your formatstring, contain proper values?

DD.20071227.1724.CET

Can you reproduce this somehow?

Ok, here goes.

The format string I used is exactly as follows;

$validate($trim(%BAND%) - $trim(%ALBUM%),)

I've entered that string into the dialoguge field via copy/paste, and now manually. Neither have any effect.

As far as the values in the tag fields are concerned, I'm not sure what you mean by "Proper Values).

Question. In the format string, do I need to change the words "BAND" and "ALBUM" uniquely to each seperate album?

And to Florian, what do you need reproduced, and who do you need to reproduce it?
Sorry guys, I'm not stupid, just new to mp3 tagging, and eager to learn.