How Do You Organize Your Music??

Hey all, I've been using MP3Tag for quite some time now. It has got to be, hands down, the best MP3 tagging/organization tool I have ever used!! Anyway, I recently started playing around with the export function and nothing really seems to come out right. I was wondering what the best way to organize your music is in order for the exported html files to look like the preview versions.

Right now my directories look like this...

D:\Music\genre\artist\album title\xxx.mp3

or if it has multiple CDs

D:\music\genre\artist\album title\cd1\xxx.mp3

for some reason, when i do exports, it doesnt look right at all... it just looks like a mess.

Also... all my mp3s are named by - -

Any help or suggestions would be great... thanks.

File Naming Conventions

My structure is almost the same as yours:

F:\Audio\Artist\Album##-title.ext

I've never organized by genre, and I'm not even sure why not, lest it be that about 70% of my files fall in two genres (Jazz and audiobooks), which would leave any other genre directories a bit empty.

Jim

It's too many sub-folders for my taste, since my MP3/WMA collection is on external portable USB HDD enclosure for listening on any computer that I go to (that might not have MP3Tag installed)...

I just use a flat directory structure, arranged by type/author/album_title

Jazz - Kenny G - Moment, The
Jazz - Laura Fygi - Jazz Greatest Hits
Opera- Phantom of the Opera - Andrew Lloyd Webber
Pop - Assorted - Lover's Memory - Vol 2 (Instrumental)
Pop - James Ingram - Power of Great Music, The

What export conf. do you use?

I really like the preview of the html_dano_albumlist_js_ex format, but when I export mine, it does it completely wrong. It almost looks like the export is giving each mp3 it's own section instead of separating by artist/album.

I've also tried html_dano_albumlist_js_f and html_nickless_javasort_lite. Any one I have tried it doesnt end up looking like the well organized preview version.