How to batch embed WMP / WinExplorer cover art in MP3?

I think this is a rare question because my all day searching found very little about it.

I've been using MP3 files for many years -- mp3tag no so much. I didn't like mp3tag until I figured out how it works. Now I love it! So I'm cleaning up my library and am trying to make it work well with VLC for Android. The cover art is the problem.

Because I've used WMP and Groove for a long time, they have downloaded and somehow attached art to my mp3 files. This art is not embedded. Microsoft is using some oddball hidden method to correlate jpg files it downloaded into my music folders with the mp3 files. This of course doesn't work with VLC, but it works in Windows Explorer and Windows players.

For the most part I am happy with the art Microsoft found. I would like to keep it on a per track basis. So what I would like to do is embed all of the art Microsoft found into the corresponding mp3 files. There are thousands so a batch method is needed. Then for the tracks that don't have embedded art, I can use MP3TAG to add art. I don't need help with that. I know how to do that.

I tried many tools, and none of them can discover the art Microsoft is using. Is there a way to do this in an automated way? All I found are drag and drop methods.

Any ideas?

In your file,Explorer, go into the settings, and enable the hidden system files. You will then be able to see the jpg images that WMP has placed in each album folder. You will see both a larger and smaller file, you can use either and embed these if you want.

Right, thanks for your suggestion. I enabled hidden and system files in my explorer many decades ago, and can always see everything. This approach leads me to a drag and drop method that I mentioned. It also requires that I figure out which picture goes with which mp3 file. That's not too terribly difficult because I can do that with visual matching. But there are thousands of files. That's the hard part.