Ideas on custom list values in latest update

Hi there,
I've been using the app for nearly 2-3 years now. It is easy to work with and meets my expectations. In the most recent update (v3.18), custom list values feature per field in the tag panel was introduced. I have been wanting that option from the beginning as many values in many columns are repetitve in the case of my data. Though I'm happy with this option now, here's what I would like to be incorporated as well :

1. Presently, the list values show up only on empty fields. It would be great if it shows up when there is a value in the field too. Consistency is necassary in that case too.

2. It would be nice to introduce a option to automatically use the distinct values in the column for the list values option. For eg. I am going to have only a few values for language tag in all my data. So, I would like to see in the dropdown list all the present distinct languages.

3. It will be comfortable if autofill options are added for the fields in the tabular area as well. List for the autofill can be our custom list or the automatic list.

Thanks,
Veera Raagavan

The goal of this new feature was the compromise of introducing a multiple choice option for all fields and retaining the previous option of marking several files and displaying the values in the marked files and, if necessary, equating them.

If you give preference to multiple choice even for fields with content, you prevent the display of the values of the marked fields and their selection. Personally, I wouldn't want to do without this feature.

1 Like

I'm not sure if I am doing this correctly for composers, since I don't consistently get the same options when I choose a different folder. These are my settings. Do they look correct?
Screenshot composersmp3tag

Are there any other settings I need to be aware of?

What do you mean by "folder"?
Could you describe what you do so that you are in doubt about your workflow?