I'm Dangerous

Hi,
I am new to this tagging idea and can't get my head round some stuff. Help is required
Ive had a look at the FAQ's and Help but still am at a loss.

1. I have some M4A files which I tag using Freedb. They tag beautifully.
    However, when I try to create the file name from the tag, the track numbering does not seem to recognise zero's and tracks organise themselves as 1,10,11,12,2,3,4......etc.
    Where am I going wrong?

2. With MP3's the same process produces the correctly tagged file, and the correctly numbered tracks on converting from tag to fiename.
    However, if I then MP3Gain the files, the tagging details seem to be overwritten.

I check all this out using the properties function in Foobar.

I suspect this has something to do with the type of tags but cannot seem to get the hang of things (I'm one of these old people.......very old in fact, and the learning curve is very steep)

Thanks,
auldyin

1. Do you use $num(%track%,2) in your filename sheme?

2. This has more to do with Mp3gain and foobar2000, not Mp3tag.
    But here's an explaination from a Wiki
    One is that you have used MP3Gain to normalize your mp3s. This creates an APEv2 tag that is empty except for the gain information. By default when reading MP3 files foobar2000 looks for APEv2 then ID3v2 and then ID3v1.1. It will read only the first tag and then stop looking for more information. The solution is to use MP3Gain to remove the blank APEv2 tag, to copy all your tag data to APEv2 BEFORE running MP3gain, or most sensibly use the native replaygain implimentation in foobar.
    If you need the gain info only on your PC, you could try foobar's Replay Gain.

Hi dano,
Many thanks for the very useful information

No, but I will now.

I have an iPod and seldom use my computer for listening to music and thought that MP3Gain would be the best option for getting volumes "all the same"

Can MP3Tag "copy all your tag data to APEv2 BEFORE running MP3gain"?
If so, how?

Thanks,