Looking for suggestions on how to organize my library (metadata + multiple artists)

Note: Before reading I want point out that I am a developer and am in the process of creating my own client for playing my music. However, that doesn't mean I want to start using a bunch of custom ID3 tags and do a bunch of other things that would only apply to my app, should I ever choose to migrate. I still want to follow common practices and standards as far as metadata tagging as closely as possible.

I've been pushing this off forever now because I just don't know how to do this and get the desired outcome.

The thing causing most of the trouble is songs/albums that have multiple artists. This falls under these categories:

• Featured artist: Artist1 feat. Artist 2
  • Joint release: Artist1 & Artist2
  • A combination of the above: Artist1 & Artist2 feat. Artist3

I want there to be a distinction between who is a main artist and who is a featured artist.

If you see Apple Music/Spotify/TIDAL, you can see that if an artist is credited as a main artist, the item will show on their artist page. And there also may be a "appears on" section that shows on whose songs/albums they are featured on. So they seem to have a way to distinguish that (namely, see TIDAL's "credits" section on an artist's page).

I want to be able to:

• View all of artists albums (+ EPs, singles, etc.)
  • View all of artists features without crediting them as main artist, keeping separate from the rest of the main discography.

---

EXAMPLES

• Travis Scott - HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    • Shows up on Travis Scott's page. There are no issues/complications with this.
  • Justin Bieber - Holy (feat. Chance the Rapper)
    • Shows up on Justin Bieber's Page. Also shows on Chance the Rapper's page under an "appears on" section or something like it, separate from his main discography, and can be viewed when viewing all songs that have Chance the Rapper on it.
  • Future & Lil Uzi Vert - Over Your Head