MP3 tag rating frame

Can anyone point me to the spec by which mp3tag stores non-standard items like rating in MP3 files?

Thanks.

This information might be hidden somewhere on the forum pages.
Search the forum for 'rating'.
Search the forum for 'popularimeter'.

DD.20070318.1000

Search the forum for 'rating'.

Thanks, but no spec found.

Search the forum for 'popularimeter'.

Um, that's a different tag entirely.

Google found http://help.mp3tag.de/en/main_tags.html , which described itself as "an overview of all ID3v2 tag fields available with Mp3tag". But it is not. Rating is missing.

So, if some can direct me to any complete documentation of mp3tag's non-standard use of MP3 tags, I'd be grateful. Thanks.

I think MP3Tag writes 'Non-Standards' in the "TXXX" frame... or something. I'm no expert though, so this is really only a guess based on my own usage observations. If I AM wrong, don't shoot me? Lol.

Yes, all non-standard tags which are not included in the list mentioned above are written into a TXXX ID3v2 frame which is basically a key/value pair of strings.

Kind regards,
Florian

Well yes that /is/ the meaning 'non-standard' in ID3 tags! :wink:

But where's the list of mp3tag keys? And the placeholders mapped to them?

Mp3tag uses the key from the key/value pair.

So if you add a RATING field with the value 50, Mp3tag creates a TXXX frame containing RATING as key and 50 as value. You can access it by using the key name as placeholder, e.g. %rating%.

Hope that helps!

Kind regards,
Florian

I'm happy to make the list of frames myself, from peeking the mp3. What would help though is a list of mp3tag metadata placeholders. I can find none in the docs. Is such available?

if you add a RATING field with the value 50, Mp3tag creates a TXXX frame containing RATING

Suggestion: correct accordingly the "ID3v2 tag fields" table at http://help.mp3tag.de/en/main_tags.html .

You still seem to have a wrong idea of the whole thing.