Mp3tag does not show subdirectories

My files are organized /audiobooks/author/title/disc-nn. As I collect the discs for a book there are multiple disc folders. First I make the unique changes for each disc (add disc number & renumber tracks with just digits & leading zeros). Then I move up one level to show all of the disc folders for a book and make all remaining changes to ALL of the files for the book. Finally I use the Move button to move ALL of the files to a single folder for the book. I've been doing this for many, many years. It no longer works. Go up one level from a Disc folder with the UP button and there is nothing showing. Not even the folder I was just working with. Likewise from File Explorer, right click on the Author or Title folder for the context menu, select mp3tag, and it now shows nothing. I can only see files if I select a single directory. I'm not sure when this got broken since I've been away from collecting audiobooks for about 6 months. Was working on this PC. mp3tag is PC version 3.08 on a Dell Intel i7 PC running Windows 10 version 20H2 with all updates. I tried a couple of previous versions I had on hand with same result. Has Microsoft screwed us again with latest updates?

Form me it is rather hard to follow which part of the program you use for which step.
Are these actions?
Do you use the Converters?
Do you use function to change or add a directory?

Anyway: if you see an Explorer window to select file system objects, then MP3tag only allows you to open folders. And therefore the Explorer only shows folders as objects , no files.
Also, it could be that you have applied a filter (perhaps even with an invisible space character) and therefore the file list remains empty.
It may be easier to supply screendumps than to try to describe the whole thing with words.