multiline field delimiter

Hello,
I'm new to mp3tag and tagging. At the moment I try to decide on a tagging method for my music files.
While thinking about tag layout I stumbeld about the multiline tag field and I wonder how to separate values into different tags.
With a list of artist like this: artist1, artist2, artist3... in the artist field,
it should be easy to separate the artists in multivalue fields, as the "," is the delimiter, but how could I do it with multiline fields, where there seems to be now visible delimiter?

artist1
artist2
artist3

Another queistion would be, if and how player/music library software displays multiline fields. I wonder if to use them at all or just use list fields?

I hope anyone can help me.

http://help.mp3tag.de/main_scripting.html
Last item in the list.

line breaks in Windows are two characters long chr(10) + Chr(13)

That depends ENTIRELY on the player you are using.

$regexp(%MULTILINE_TAG_FIELD%,'[\r\n]+','\\\\')

==> multivalue tag field

DD.20140313.0820.CET

Thank you for your fast answers!
I looked around in the forum and the help files, but I didn't recognize it. But I have to admit, that regular expressions are still a mystery to me and my brain shuts down seeing the :slight_smile:

So I think i would have to use DetlevDs

in an action "replace with regular expression" and there in the line "regular expression"

but Chris Hirst i have no idea, how to put the $meta_sep(x,sep) from the scripting help that you indicated into an action.
I believe I understand that it transforms a multiline filed in a list separated by my chosen seperator (sep). But how do I use it in an action?