Newbie: Exporting query

Hi!

I'm brand new to mp3tag and already enjoying its features. I have a query about the 'export feature'.

I don't understand how to configure how the exported data appears in terms of which tags appear and in what order (html format in my case). I had assumed that whatever order I put the data in within the main window of mp3tag - once exported, that would be the layout within the exported file.

Clearly it isn't and I thought it might be down to the fact that I need to edit the export configuration file. But when I click on 'edit', my PC is asking for a suitable app to edit the file. This made me think I'd got it wrong!

So, just two questions

1. Am I correct in thinking that I need to edit the 'export configuration' file. If so, what app do I use to edit?

2. If the above is incorrect, how do I edit what tags appear in the exported file and their relative vertical position within the exported file?

Thanks

Steve

Haven't you tried to open a new export script?
Because then, the correct editor (the plain windows text editor is the default) opens and you get a template file that you can adapt for your needs.
See also the help on that: https://docs.mp3tag.de/export

The script layout also determines the formatting of the generated export. So a statement in a new line also puts the data in the new line. You have to experiment a little.
Please note that you can also use the functions of the scripting language which means that you can also output non-printable characters like $char(9), the tab character.

Thanks for the quick reply Ohrenkino

I'll try creating anew script (I missed that option first time round!)

Hi again Ohrenkino

OK, I think I'm understanding the principle now... I duplicated the standard html script and 'played with it'. It's now exporting JUST the columns I want :slight_smile: