Preferred Audio Book Tagging Procedure

Hello Everyone!
I am new to the MP3tag community and have a procedural question that may be explained elsewhere,
I am ripping audio books for use on either an MP3 device or to rip on one or two CDs versus 10 - 12.
My question(s): Is there a preferred method of tagging the chapters so they play in order and can this tagging be automated so it is consistent across multiple files and audio books?
Thank you in advance for your input and I love the software!!

see the Tools menu (or the toolbar) for the track numbering assistant.
This function fills the field TRACK.
If you want to keep a relation to the CD on which tracks were found, then fill the filed DISCNUMBER (manually).
As this field is usually not read by players, you could then combine the discnumber and the track number so that the first track on CD 1 becomes track 101, the eighth on disc 3 308 and so on.
That what you apply in the end depends a lot on the way the player treates the files and tags.

Thanks! I'll take a look at that and give it a try.

That method does not combine disc number and track. When I load multiple files to rip they come up sequentially (e.g. Disc 1/ track 1, Disc 2/ track 1, etc.). ow can I combine the disc and track number tags as you mentioned so they will list properly in the ripping software I am using (Nero Platinum 2018)? Your suggestion of 011,021,031, etc. should work fine for me but I can't figure out how to configure MP3Tag to do this.

Once %discnumber% and %track% have been filled, use the function Converter>Tag-Tag for TRACK
Format string: %discnumber%$num(%track%,2)

You are the man!! That string is the "secret sauce"! Thank you again. I want to add that I have used many different MP3 tagging programs over the years and I have finally found the Holy Grail!! Everyone, please support these guys with your donations, they are deserving of your continued support!!
Thanks again!