Regex replace up to next bracket and move to artist

Hello everyone. I'm trying to set up some actions to delete the 'featuring' part from the title by using regex. I'm a total newbie at this and have gotten quite far by searching the forums for help but for now I can't get the following to work:

Current regex is
Field: TITLE
Regular Expression: \s+(fe?a?t.*)
Replace: (nothing)

When a variant of '(feat' is found this deletes everything up to the end of the tag when additional sets of round brackets are in the tag. I want it to end at the first round bracket after the match. So it should -not- remove any brackets before the match nor any following sets of brackets. For example:
title (feat. artist2) (radio edit)
currently becomes:
title
instead of:
title (radio edit)

What do I have to change in the regex to get this to work?
And additionally: how do I add the exact string that is matched by the regex to the artist field?

Many thanks in advance!
Wouter

see e.g. here:

or here:

1 Like

The second topic contained exactly what I needed to get rid of the 'featuring' from the title. Many thanks!

I'm reorganizing my actions now and will then try to make an action to add the found string to the Artist tag before deleting it.

These regex' are extremely powerful, but sometimes hard to 'read'.

I was the OP of the first topic that ohrenkino linked, and using what I know as well as the second post he linked, I think your best bet might be using the following two part action:

Field: ARTIST
Format string: $meta_sep(artist,\\)\\$regexp(%TITLE%,'^(.+?)\s+[[({]?(?:ft\.?|feat\.?|featuring)\s+([^][(){}]+)[])}]?(\s+.+)?$','$2',1)

Field: TITLE
Format string: $regexp(%TITLE%,'^(.+?)\s+[[({]?(?:ft\.?|feat\.?|featuring)\s+(?:[^][(){}]+)[])}]?(\s+.+)?$','$1$2',1)

1 Like

Sorry about multiple edits on my post, but now the format above should work properly.

Hello again,

@krmerman342: The action for the TITLE field matches my current one exactly.