Replace part while keeping other part of the title

Hello everyone,

I've got a "title" tag that looks like this:

Title - Feat Someone - Somebody's Cover

And I want it to look like this:

Title (feat. Someone) (Somebody's Cover)

I know how to replace "- Feat" with "(feat." with an action and I tried using "*" as a placeholder (at least that's what Win 10 uses) but that didn't work. A "regular expression" action is probably required here, right? Sorry, I'm a complete RE noob. How do I add the closing bracket after the second artist and what if there's also a third one, like this:

Title - Feat Someone - Feat Someone Else

Thanks in advance!

right.
Try:
Search string: (.*) - (.*) - (.*)
Replace string: $1 ($2) ($3)

You do not say what this one should look like.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply!
"Feat" should be replaced with a lower case "feat." and it's possible for there to be multiple "Feat" and multiple "Cover" or maybe just a single "Cover" without the "Feat". Is there a way to check what it is, so "Feat" is handled one way and "Cover" a different way?

Title - Feat Someone - Feat Someone Else

should be replaced the same way, so:

Title (feat. Someone) (feat. Someone Else)

Try this:
$regexp('Title - Feat Someone - Feat Someone Else',(.*) - (.*) - (.*),$1 (\l$2) (\l$3))
(this would be valid for an action of the type "Format value", though)

You could setup an action group that caters for the various cases.
$regexp('Title - Feat Someone - Feat Someone Else',(.*) - Feat (.*) - Feat (.*),$1 (feat $2, $3)) -> Title (feat Someone, Someone Else)
$regexp('Title - Feat Someone - Feat Someone Else',(.*) - Cover (.*) - Cover (.*),$1 (Cover $2, $3)) -> Title (feat Someone, Someone Else)
and the last action would be
$regexp('Title - Feat Someone - Feat Someone Else',(.*) - (.*) - (.*),$1 (\l$2) ($3))