Replaceing / Deleting Stings with Regular Expressions

Hello Everyone

I am new to the MP3TAG forum. Greets! I have what I am sure is a simple question but for the life of me I have been unable to find an answer. I just cant get my head around regular expressions as implemented in MP3TAG. I have read many posts and have not found a clear answer to this question.

I have a bunch of MP3's in the format of - .mp3 for example,
an MP3 named Bob James - Reunited.mp3. I would like the title to end up being just
Reunited.mp3. I would like to DELETE or REMOVE all characters starting from the beginning of the string up to the first "-". I cannot figure out how to do such a simple thing.

I would also like to know how to do the opposite, by that I mean I would like to be able to search for the first instance of "-" and REMOVE or DELETE all text AFTER that instance to the end of the string.

If anyone could help me out with EITHER expression it would be GREATLY appreciated. I have been missing around with this for over a month ( it was a personal challenge :slight_smile: but I just cannot get it to work.

I am using MP3TAG v 2.46

Any response is greatly Appreciated.

DrWho

Your request sounds similar to this thread ...
/t/10138/1

DD.20100319.2033.CET

Yes it is very similar. And I see he never got an answer either :slight_smile:

IS there a simple solution to this question?

I take it that you are somewhat allergic to regular expressions.
So if your filename looks like - .mp3
you can easily rewrite your tags by importing the right section with the function filename - tag:
The mask looks lke this:
%artist% - %title%
The preview should re-ensure you to get the right result.
If you still want a solution with regular expressions you have to come back to this thread.