Yes, this is what I meant. Using Shift+Del only is not possible and using Ctrl+Shift+Del might accidentally trigger file deletion if the focus isn't in one of the Tag Panel fields.
But as I said above, it's already possible to remove values via Options → Field Values, so nothing is really lost.