Sorting fails for tracks with combination of numbers and letters (i.e. "1a")

Using Ver 3.04b Dec 17th 2020
There is a problem sorting (by column head) track numbers (even self-assigned ones) if a combination of numbers and letters is used for subtracks (1a, 1b, 1c, 1d sorts to 1a <1c<1d<1b). Sorting works well if either numbers or letters are used.
To reproduce - well, obviously: Renumber and sort something.

Have you set "Numeric" in the column definition?
1a, 1b ... is only numeric up to the 1.
Untick "Numeric" and see if it works better

Sorry, Ohrenkino ....I don't know what you want me to do - cannot find any "numeric" (also I'm using the German UI). Can you be a bit more detailed? I'm not THAT experienced :frowning:

See the column definition - for that right-click on any column header, select the "Columns ..." function.
In the then open dialogue, navigate in the list of columns to the one that shows TRACK
On the right of the dialogue you find the column name, value, field, sort by and numeric.
tracknummer

1 Like

Ah --- thank you very much. As you expected that did the trick!
I have "saved the configuration" to a mp3tag\data\columns\x.ini file and expect this to be the new default now.
Are there any disadvantages or special considerations deriving from the unchecked "numeric" state?
I mean, there is probably a reason for having this ON by default.

It is the new default as soon as you changed the configuration. A new version of MP3Tag will take this setting.
The saving of a columns.ini creates a backup or an alternative setting, that can be loaded.

Yes.
You now sort track as text which means that you get all tracks starting with "1" first, so unless you have leading zeros, it will be
and then
and so on.
To be honest: "1a" is no valid track number according to the ID3 standard which wants track to be numeric. The only exception is the / to separate current from total.