Special Characters added to title

I'm new at this utility but I like MP3Tag for it's functionality. I used it to mass-convert some genre's to make them consistent. In the process, it added some special characters (ÿ) to the title, album and genre of each track I converted. I used the convert utility to remove them so they do not show up now in MP3Tag but they still show up in my MP3 software (Rio) and in Nero. Can you point me to a solution to remove them?

/t/2785/1

Look at the this pinned topic:

/t/2785/1

If your applications and / or hardware player does not support unicode properly,
use v2.3 ISO 8859-1 tags only.

@dano: d'oh, look at the posting time of the replies :wink:

Thanks Dano and Klaasklever. I suppose this comes up a lot but without knowing which post / tag format issue related to my problem, you saved me some time in getting to an answer. A few things surprised me in this problem. One was that MP3Tag also displayed the special characters. The other is that Nero doesn't support the standard Unicode tags (I'm running 6.3 so maybe 7.0 does). Either way, I had to run a convert to remove the characters that were there and once I had changed that option, it stored them without.

I can no longer see the special character in most of the apps except for Nero where they can be seen and when I burn an MP3 CD, they show up in the titles, album and artist fields of my players. I've tried creating a conversion and I have tried saving them now that I am using the 8859-1 tags option but I can't seem to get rid of them. Any other suggestions?

By the way, the special characters are displayed in foobar2000. I can edit them out manually but am looking for an automated script.

You can use the Actions to replace the special characters.