tag changes not registered even after saving?

I'm new at this (just started an hour ago) but basically I got mp3tag because I had some music that i was syncing to my mp3 player didn't have an artist so some songs would show up in the 'Unknown' artist folder. I went in and changed them all to the right artists with mp3tag, and saved them all. but when i open up Windows Explorer to see the files, hoping to resync them with the right info, they hadn't changed and some were still missing artists. I know it may be something simple but like i said I'm new at this and can't seem to figure it out. Any help is appreciated. :smiley:

I've been experiencing precisely this behaviour for quite some time now (I've been using MP3Tag editor since before Windows 7 came along), and it's always happened to me, even with the latest version (which is now v2.52). This insanity happens when I use the application on both Windows XP and Windows 7. When I discovered your post, I was disappointed to see no one had replied. Within MP3Tag Editor, after making changes, I can go back to the file I've editted, and it shows the change has been applied. However, I find this is often a false positive (have to close and re-launch MP3Tag Editor for it to "tell the truth"). If I close the application, and have it reload the tags from the music, I often find many of my edits haven't been applied. I also find it takes two or three attempts at changing, closing the application & reloading, before the alterations "stick."

Does anyone have an answer for this?

Heck, I became so annoyed with this behaviour that I tried a completely different MP3 Tag Editor, and to my surprise it behaved in precisely the same manner!! I'm very experienced with computers, and my experience tells me I'm doing something "wrong" if the same thing happens in two different applications written by different developers. But what am I potentially doing wrong? Would love to have someone shed some light on this...