Tag Clean-Up > Library

Hello good people of Tag Land. I've been using MP3Tag for a few years now. I use it in what I assume is a very basic manner, and started using it to, you know, keep my tags in order. I came across it after getting a little frustrated by how mp3's werr tagged when I ripped my cd's. I was/am basically a bit anal about the naming, etc. I have what is a relatively large mp3 collection of roughly 40k songs, and recently had a couple of issues that made me think that while I 'thought' my tags were relatively in order, I need to do some clean up. One of the issues involves my Sonos system, and it not showing my iTunes/imported playlists. After ensuring the iTunes library.xml was indeed present, and iTunes is set to allow other apps to access the file, and the playlists still not showing-up, I decided to open a trouble ticket with Sonos. I sent them a log and was eventually told that while my library, at 40k files, is significantly lower than their 65k limit (25k lower!), that "the metadata in my files had more information in them than the typical person has." This, along with an iPhone syncing issue, made me think that it might be time to clean up my tags. As I mentioned, admittedly, I have been using MP3Tag in a basic fashion. I have not made any changes to the defaults, and simply rename each cd I rip as I like, using the basic information fields of Title, Artist, Album, Year, Track, Genre, Comments (sometimes when needed - minimal) ... I usually just duplicate the artist field in Album artist, and sometimes add art if/when available, but don't make a fuss over it. I save, and then tag from File name. The result of this looks good to me.

I assumed that this basic information is what a LOT of people likely include in their tags as well, no? I'm wondering what is meant by my metadata having more information than the average person uses? And if so, what can I do to clean-up the tags?