Tag sources: isn't MP3Tag supposed to read Audio-CD?

I'm just exploring how MP3Tag can obtain tag data for a CD. As I understand it you're supposed to put a CD in the drive, and MP3Tag reads it (like Audiograbber would) and goes up to FreeDB (or GNUDB now) or accesses a local version of the FreeDB database, and populates the presented information (just like Audiograbber would certainly do, I am guessing).

I've never used this functionality before now. But tonight I decided to try it (since finally I now also have a local version of the FreeDB database in compact Windows-form). And nothing happened. MP3tag never read the CD that was in the drive, or did anything!

Am I supposed to do something to make this happen? Or is it just supposed to happen by itself when you launch the program with a CD in the tray already, or if you insert a CD later after the program is already open?

Is there a "read CD" action or button or something??

Please point me in the right direction.

If you open Tags-Sources>Freedb ...
the you can use the option to get the ID from the inserted CD.
You would need to have converted the CD tracks before to a suitable file format.

I don't follow. Or something else is not right.

I have a CD inserted right now, and when I select Tags-Source from the Menu Bar the dropdown shows the freedb items grayed-out.

Is that what you wanted me to use?

Yes. You have to configure the freedb access first.
See Tools>Options>Tag-Sources>Freedb and ...>Local freedb.

I've already done that. And I've pushed the "create local index" button and that went fine.

And you have to select at least 1 file in the files list.

What is a "files list"?

I call it that way. It is the table where a list of loaded files and some of their properties are displayed. The default is that the files list is to the right of the tag panel (which you can show and hide with Ctrl-Q to see what I mean), below the toolbar and above the filter input box.