Tags and Windows Media Player

Hi,

I'm a newbie, so sorry about asking naive questions. For various reasons, I use WMP 12 for organizing my library under Windows 7. I know that I have to delete from and add to library in order to activate changes, but there are still a lot of things I don't understand.

1. I have set the genre tags of all my files, but when WMP first adds to the library, a lot of files end up with "unknown genre". I have to set the tags from within WMP, and those tags seem to be internal to the WMP database and not written to the file, so next time I rebuild the library, I have the same problem. However, this only happens to some of the files. I just realized that these problematic files (some mp3, some flac) all appear with empty length tag, and when I right click them and look at the details tab, all the tags seem to be empty.

2. Sometimes WMP and Mp3tag seem to edit different tags. Is there any way to access the tags that WMP use directly from Mp3tag?

3. I have some FLAC files, and I used WMP Tag Support Extender to make the appear in the library. One of them appeared with a strange Album Artist name. I could simply not find that name using Mp3tag. Then I tried it using Tag&Rename, and sure enough, I found it there. Do these programs read different sets of tags?

Thanks!

Helmer

To me, from a distance, it looks as though you do not have pure MP3 tags but also APE tags. As they are higher in priority they may overrule the mp3 tags.
Have a look at
/t/5060/1
about MP3 V1, V2 and APE.

In the end you should delete all APE tags.

Thanks for the suggestion, but I am leaning towards thinking that there is something wrong with the files.