Various Artists recognition by Tag>Filename

Is it possible to have mp3tag figure out if an album has multiple artists by comparing if the album tag has more than one artist for it? At first I was wondering if it could be done through tag to filename, however I am fairly sure that's not possible, however I don't know if it would be possible for the rest of mp3tag to recognize that. So I am asking, is it possible for mp3tag to consider a chunk of files by their album tag, see if there's only one artist present, and if there is, mark off in some other field 'VA' or whatever. From there I would be able to use the functions in tag to filename.

Thanks for your help, I have been using mp3tag for several years and am still exploring it's endless functions. It is bar none the best.

As nice as it sounds, at closer look I would not want such a function - there are so many albums like "The best of" or "The works" - all by individual artists that I would not like to get a "VA" tagging automatically. Or classical music spins around a set of traditional compositions that are interpreted by various orchestras and other artists. They do not deserve to be labelled "VA",

Or if it were done automatically, I would have to revert the action manually.

I am afraid that it comes down to that manual work - but as you have experienced, MP3tag has an awful lot of great features to filter, sort and format fields.

I can't think of how. Mp3tag actions only operate with individual files.