WAV Files

The description says it all. I just downloaded this application hoping I could edit meta tags in WAV files, but it does not seem to support this. Or is there anything I might be doing wrong? I am new to this, so any help would be appreciated! Thanks. :unsure:

There is no standard to deal with tags in wav-files. So the answer is: no, MP3tag does not support wav-tagging.
If you want to have lossless audio formats with tags, consider the use of flac. That IS supported by MP3tag.

Why would there be no standard?

DBPoweramp, MediaMonkey, Jriver, MPD, KID3 to name but a few are all using the same method for editing and reading ID3 tags inside WAV-files. The WAV-file standard perfectly allows for it as well.
There is no other method in existence to do ID3 tagging inside WAV either.

So what do you mean there is no standard?

IMO it is just a case of thickheadedness of Florian. :angry:

We live in a free country where everyone is entitled to an opinion of one's own. It is also up to oneself to decide if uttering it will carry very far.

In respect to the standard. See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WAV and especially the bit about placing the info chunk:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Resource_Inte...cement_problems
As there are standardized alternatives I would use these.

To quote from your wikipedia reference:

So what's the issue?

If you can't work it out, did you ever contact mr.Spoon from dBPoweramp or Scott Wheeler from the TagLib. They could manage it.

Well Florian has been refusing to add it for I think 5-6 years since I first asked, so nothing is lost here for me. I have alternatives in place and I hardly ever use MP3Tag anymore, but I still think MP3Tag is the best tag-editor out there.

It is letting itself down though, by not adding such a thing as ID3 for WAV, which was for me the sole reason to dump it for regular use.