[X] ID3v2.UTF-16 Tags not recognised if the audio file has a Title field with special Characters in it

Problem Description :
ID3v2.3 UTF-16 Tags not recognised if the audio file has a Title field with special Characters in it.

Additional Info :
Mp3Tag Version : 2.72 using WineBottler wrapper on OS X EL Capitan 10.11.1
Audio File Type : MPEG-4 (M4A)

I know that there is no support for the version that I am using. But I feel this is not an issue with the wrapper. I am new to Mp3Tag and already loving it. I could not find any similar threads so I am starting a new one.

The Tag fields for my audio files are empty if it has the Title that contains “,? [] , also I cannot edit them manually(The access to those files are restricted) even though the file has write permissions to it.

If this issue is a double to any other bug can any one please give me a workaround if any (I want those special characters on my title field).

I have attached a screen shot for your assistance.

Regards
Nikilesh

How do you know the files have tags at all?
Also, I see that there are files that have a ' in it.
If you cannot edit the files, you have to make sure that you are member of the owners.
I do not see a bug but a problem with your environment.

Hi ohrenkino,

All the files are tagged properly itunes,Tagr, Kid3, beaTunes4, MediaMonkey on Wine, Yate all show these tags and i can edit them.
Yes I am the member of the owner.

Regards,
Nikilesh

could you check if you have APE tags in the unwilling files?
They overwrite ID3V2 and V1 contents.
What about those files that have a ' in the title - you claimed that they could not be read.

No The files do not have APE tags. I have done the previous tagging using mediamonkey in windows 10.
There is no issue with a ' as you can see from the first picture ( The word "3's" appeared and tags for those appeared).

Problem is seen for ? [] "" all the time.

Here is a thread that also reports problems with m4a files.

/t/15778/1