XML export reserved characters

I'm a complete newbie with very limited coding experience...with a simple problem. So I appreciate any and all patience and help.

Here is my problem: When I export into an xml, reserved characters are showing up funny.
Example(s): "For his about-to-be-released autobiography, �My Life�" & "I don�t see it as a problem"

First question: What code do I need to cancel out reserved characters?
Second question: Where do I put this code?

Again, thank you for helping a guy who feels like a complete idiot for not figuring this out for himself.

Best,
Kumba

Please.....can someone give me a quick answer to this?

1. How do you create the xml file?
  2. Give us an impression of your "Mp3tag export to xml" script file.
  3. Show us the first script line of the Mp3tag xml export script.
  4. Using what application do you see the crippled output characters?
  5. Read the manual about character encoding option when using $filename().
  6. Set the character encoding for the xml data, e. g.
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
  1. Hide illegal characters from the XML parser by using the term CDATA, e. g.
    ''

DD.20100816.0432.CEST

Thank you so much for your help on this, it is GREATLY appreciated. I will try and answer these to the best of my limited ability and please feel free to ask more questions in detail if need be.

1. Create xml = I made a (not so good) template via mp3tag
    2/3/6. Script =
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?> $loop(%songpath%) $loopend()
  1. I use FLASH to parse the xml into a datagrid and it works fine except for the reserved chcaracters.
  2. I will look in the manual after this email, thanks for the heads-up
  3. I will try the CDATA insertion as soon as possible.

Again, thanks and I hope what I've provided gives you some insight.

Best,
Kumba

This export script creates a xml file which will be displayed correctly in XML Notepad.