Backup copy of changes to music files

I have a master copy of my FLAC files and I have been using Karenware to do incremental updates to my backup copies of the master FLAC file.
The only issue I find is that if I make a change to the composer information it does not seem to be incrementally changed in my backup copies using Karenware but if I change the title or album info Karenware seems to pick this up and pass the changes onto the target backup files..
The question I have is to ask what others uses to increntally update their. master copies of their file to their backup copies?
Saw MS Sync Toy mentioned in an article in the community here. Anyone use this?
Trying to find out what is best and most accurate / reliable if I can?.
Thanks

I use the built-in (windows) robocopy.exe to backup my music files.

Thanks to the "last modified" date for every metadata change (Mp3tag -> File -> Options -> Tags -> "Preserve file modification time when saving tags" UNCHECKED) robocopy.exe detects every change I have made and copy such files to my external hard drives and NAS.
Every unchanged file will not be transferred.

With this basic form of "incremental backup", you are sure that you have a 1:1 master copy without the need to restore several different smaller incremental backup parts.

1 Like

Thanks LL, appreciate you responding.
It is a worry trying to preserve all the ripping that I've done over the years.
What parameters / options do you use in robocopy?
Thankyou.

The most easy command line syntax is:

ROBOCOPY C:\Path\To\My\ChangedFiles X:\Path\To\My\ExternalBackupDrive /E

/E -> Copies subdirectories. This option automatically includes empty directories.

There are many more options, for example if you want to log all screen output to a textfile or if you want to specifically exclude some files or directories. Please have a look at the robocopy-documentation.