MP3-Files corrupted after editing

Hello everyone,

I am new to MP3Tag and used it for the first time recently. I mainly added some album covers and fixed some missing tags. It all went very well and I was very happy with how my library looked afterwards.
Unfortunately though, I discovered an issue that occurred right after I was done editing: All of the modified files were kind of corrupted, i.e. the sound was distorted. I am absolutely sure that the issue stems from the editing as I tried to open the files with different music players (Windows Media Player, VLC) and on different systems (Windows 10 Laptop, Android Smartphone) to eliminate any possible error source. The the problem persists however.

Thats why I am addressing you guys now. Is this a known issue and/or is there a fix available? I undid the changes on some files to see if the files would get restored back to normal, but to no avail. As I edited almost 5 GB of files in one go it would be really unfortunate if I cant rescue the songs...

Does anyone know what to do?

1 Like

It's highly unlikely that Mp3tag corrupted your files. Get MP3 Diags and scan some of your files to see if any errors show up.

Anytime you modify files with unfamiliar software you should create backups of the files just in case there's a problem.

Dont know about that. I mean they werent corrupted before I used MP3Tag, which makes it hard for me to believe that it was caused by anything else. The remaining unedited files that are located in the same folder are still working perfectly fine too.

But yeah you are right, not creating backups was dumb.

Anyways, I ran the program and apparently there are errors (as far as I am able to understand what it says at least). Is there some kind of log-feature so I can show you?

You could also run mp3val (search machine will tell you where to get it) - this program shows files with problems and tries to repair them.