My mp3 player shows incorrect metadata

Hello all, I'm new to all this but would appreciate some advice.

Transferring mp3 files from my Win10 PC to USB stick to play in car - all works fine, but the data for some tracks is shown incorrectly on my car player's screen. Pretty trivial in the great scheme of things but it's annoying me.

For example, tracks by artiste Chris White show up in my car's player as Chris Whitley.

However, when I open these files in Mp3tag, everything looks fine and Chris White shows up correctly as the artiste, with no sign of Chris Whitley anywhere.

There are other examples too. I'd like to understand how 'Chris Whitley' is getting in there, and whether I can do anything to correct it.

Thanks for reading,

Steve

Is this all new data or did you modify the data from "Chris Whitley" to "Chris White"? I.e. did the car player have a chance to read the false data before?

Also, could you check if you have APE tags in the files? You see that in a column fairly far to the right which says "Tag" as column header. Or select a single file and press Alt-T to open the extended tags dialogue where you see that information in the dialogue title.

If you have APE tags, then check Tools>Options>tags>Mpeg whether you read them.

Thanks for replying, much appreciated.

No, I haven't changed any tags. Originally I think downloaded from YouTube as mp3 files. So possibly that source is unreliable, but in mp3tag all the info appears correct - until I play them in the car.

I can't see anything called APE, sorry. Columns towards the right are Comment, Codec, Bitrate, Frequency, Length, Modified.

Selecting a file then ALT+T, I see a dialog box with Metadata and these headings: Artist, Comment, Compatible Brands, Encoder_Settings, Major_Brand, Minor_Version, Title, UnsyncedLyrics.

Following the Tools... path you suggested, I can see that the three boxes marked APE tags are all checked for Read, Write and Remove.

Steve